移动选单
苏宛儿 Emily So profile photo

苏宛儿 Emily So

律师 Associate

苏宛儿是康德明律师事务所香港办事处亚洲纠纷与重组团队的律师。她于 2016 年加入康德明,在取得律师资格后具有逾 10 年的执业经验。

苏律师的执业领域涵盖商业纠纷调解的各个方面,包括高价值股东纠纷、衍生诉讼、企业无力偿债、重组、破产以及其他争讼事宜等,通常涉及跨境因素和多个司法管辖区。

在加入康德明之前,苏律师在民事及商事诉讼方面积累了丰富经验,包括上市公司清盘、监管调查、资产追回、清盘及国际纠纷等。苏律师在处理跨司法管辖区事宜、剖析复杂的事实情况以及应对旷日持久的法律程序(包括审讯和上诉程序)方面尤为擅长。

苏律师拥有一流的分析能力和出色的起草技巧。她通晓三语,可用地道的普通话、粤语及英语交流,为国际及本地客户提供高效的服务。

主要经验

股东纠纷

  • 在一宗不公平损害申索中,代表一间总部设于香港的房地产开发企业的 BVI 控股公司的大股东行事;就小股东向枢密院司法委员会提出的上诉作抗辩(于 2020 年 11 月聆讯);代表该股东向 BVI 上诉法庭提出上诉,成功撤销要求他回购小股东股份的命令;就一项申请成功作出抗辩,该申请声称其违反BVI上诉法庭关于向小股东提供财务资料的命令。
  • 代表一家总部设于中国的五星级酒店的管理股东,就被动投资的小股东在BVI商事法庭提出的不公平损害申索作抗辩;起草管理股东的关键证人陈述书,解释各种复杂商业交易的理由;与出庭律师和律师助理协调各方面的工作,处理及应对大规模披露工作和 BVI 商事法庭长达五周的审讯;代表股东向 BVI 上诉法庭提出上诉,成功撤销任命酒店临时清算人的命令;代表股东就目前正在枢密院司法委员会待决的上诉作抗辩;代表客户提出详细费用评估申请(远程进行了三天),最终裁定她有权获得所要求的总费用和支出的 92%。
  • 代表一家在香港上市的高尔夫制造公司的主席和大股东,就小股东在 BVI 商事法庭提出的不公平损害申索成功进行抗辩。

衍生诉讼及其他商业诉讼

  • 代表一家总部设于中国的制药企业的 BVI 控股公司的小股东对公司董事长和董事会提起衍生诉讼,指控其违反受信责任,将公司的唯一资产以严重偏低的价值出售给董事长;在 BVI 商事法庭长达五周的审讯中担任牵头律师;以非便利法庭为由就搁置法律程序的申请成功作出抗辩;处理法律程序的所有非正审申请;进行会计和估值方法以及中国法律和制药法规方面的专家证人的取证工作。
  • 代表一家在开曼群岛注册成立的公司(清盘中)的大股东在开曼群岛提起专业疏忽诉讼,指控联合清盘人违反清盘人职责,以严重偏低的价值出售公司的唯一资产。

破产与重组

  • 代表各类在百慕大和开曼群岛注册成立的离岸公司成功申请任命“低度干预”重组临时清盘人;向香港公司法院申请颁令承认低度干预清盘人的任命。
  • 代表在百慕大、开曼群岛和 BVI 注册成立并在香港联交所上市的多家离岸公司反对债权人提出的清盘呈请;担任牵头律师,起草和整理正在进行重组的证据,阐述债权人的意见,并向法院报告重组进展。
  • 成功申请押后针对一家于开曼注册成立并在香港联交所上市的公司提出的清盘呈请,理由是重组建议如果由该公司实施,将为债权人带来更好的回报;担任此事宜的牵头律师,并与开曼的诉讼部合伙人直接合作;成功申请确认公司处置的命令。
  • 在债务追讨诉讼中代表各债权人拟备和送达法定要求偿债书,并针对于百慕大、开曼群岛和 BVI 注册成立的离岸公司提出清盘呈请。

其他

  • 代表各类在香港联交所主板上市的离岸公司以及在 BVI、开曼群岛和百慕大注册成立的私人公司在争讼性股东会议上行事,并就小股东提出的请求的有效性提供意见。
  • 就针对在百慕大注册成立的公司提起多项衍生诉讼的步骤和程序准备法律意见。
  • 在进行虚拟/远程法院聆讯和与亚洲的事实证人和专家证人进行视频连线盘问会议方面经验丰富。

职业经验

  • 香港证券及期货事务监察委员会,诉讼律师
  • 温斯顿律师事务所,香港办事处,诉讼律师
  • 罗夏信律师事务所,香港办事处,实习律师

教育背景

  • 伦敦经济学院,法学硕士(论文成绩优等),2007
  • 香港大学,法学专业证书,2006
  • 香港大学,法学学士(荣誉),2005
  • 杜克大学,交换学生,2005

律师资格

  • 百慕大,注册律师,2019
  • 英属维尔京群岛,事务律师,2019
  • 香港,事务律师,2010(当前不执业)

协会

  • 国际破产从业员协会

语言

  • 粤语
  • 英语
  • 普通话

执业领域

Mobile Menu
Emily So profile photo

Emily So is an Associate in the Asia Disputes & Restructuring Group in the Hong Kong office of Conyers Dill & Pearman. She joined Conyers in 2016 and possesses more than 10 years of post-qualification experience.

Emily’s practice includes all aspects of commercial disputes resolution, ranging from high value shareholders’ disputes, derivative actions, corporate insolvency, restructuring, insolvency to other contentious matters, often involving cross-border elements and multiple jurisdictions.

Prior to joining Conyers, she has accumulated experience in civil and commercial litigations including the winding up of a listed company, regulatory investigations, asset recovery, liquidation and international disputes. Emily is particularly skilled in navigating multi-jurisdictional landscapes, dissecting complex factual scenarios and managing long-running Court proceedings, including trial and proceedings at the appellate level.

Emily possesses first-class analytical capability and superior drafting skills. She is trilingual and speaks native Mandarin, Cantonese and English, allowing her to serve international and local clients effectively.

Experience Highlights

Shareholders’ Disputes

  • Acted for the majority shareholder of the BVI holding company of a property development business based in Hong Kong in an unfair prejudice claim; Defended the minority’s appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (heard in November 2020); Represented the shareholder in his successful appeal to the BVI Court of Appeal quashing an Order requiring him to buy-out the shares of the minority; Successfully defended an application asserting breach of a BVI Court of Appeal’s Order for provision of financial information to the minority.
  • Acted for the managing shareholder of a five-star hotel based in China in defending an unfair prejudice claim in the BVI Commercial Court brought by the passive investing minority; Drafted the key witness statement of the managing shareholder to explain the rationale of various complex commercial transactions; Managed a large-scale discovery exercise and a five-week long trial in the BVI Commercial Court by coordinating all aspects of work with trial counsel and paralegals; Represented the shareholder in her successful appeal to the BVI Court of Appeal quashing an Order appointing provisional liquidators over the hotel; Represented the shareholder in defending an appeal currently pending before the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council; Represented the client in a detailed cost assessment application (conducted remotely over three days) which resulted in a ruling that she was entitled to 92% of the total costs and disbursements claimed.
  • Acted for the Chairman and majority shareholder of a golf manufacturing company listed in Hong Kong in successfully defending an unfair prejudice claim in the BVI Commercial Court commenced by a minority shareholder.

Derivative Actions & Other Commercial Proceedings

  • Acted for the minority shareholders of the BVI holding company of a pharmaceutical business based in China in commencing a derivative action against the Chairman and board of directors of the company for breach of fiduciary duties by selling the sole asset of the company at a gross undervalue to its Chairman; Acted as the lead associate of a five-week long trial in the BVI Commercial Court; Successfully defended an application for stay of proceedings on ground of forum inconveniens; Managed all interlocutory applications of the proceedings; Managed the taking of evidence from expert witnesses in accounting and valuation methodology as well as PRC law and pharmaceutical regulations.
  • Acted for the majority shareholders of a company (in liquidation) incorporated in the Cayman Islands in commencing an professional negligence action in the Cayman Islands alleging that the joint liquidators have breached their duties as liquidators in selling the sole asset of the company at a gross undervalue.

Insolvency & Restructuring

  • Applied successfully for appointment of provisional liquidators on a “soft-touch” basis for the purpose of restructuring on behalf of various offshore companies incorporated in Bermuda and the Cayman Islands; Sought orders for recognition of the appointment of soft-touch liquidators from the Hong Kong Companies Court.
  • Acted for various offshore companies incorporated in the Bermuda, the Cayman Islands and BVI and listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in opposing winding up petitions presented by creditors; Acted as the lead Associate in drafting and collating evidence that restructuring was underway, setting out the views of creditors and reporting progress of the restructuring to the Court.
  • Applied successfully for an adjournment of a winding up petition presented against a Cayman-incorporated company listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, on the ground that a restructuring proposal would yield better return to creditors if implemented by the company; Acted as the lead Associate of the matter and worked directly with a litigation partner in Cayman; Applied successfully for an order validating the dispositions of the company.
  • Acted for various creditors in preparing and serving statutory demands and commencing winding up petitions against offshore companies incorporated in the Bermuda, the Cayman Islands and BVI in debt recovery actions.

Others

  • Acted for various offshore companies listed on the Main Board of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange and private companies incorporated in the BVI, the Cayman Islands and Bermuda in contentious shareholders’ meetings and advised on validity of requisitions raised by minority.
  • Prepared legal opinion on the steps and procedures of commencing multiple derivative actions against a company incorporated in Bermuda.
  • Experienced in managing virtual/ remote Court hearings and video-link cross-examination sessions for factual and expert witnesses based in Asia.

Professional Background

  • Litigation Lawyer, Securities and Futures Commission, Hong Kong
  • Litigation Associate, Winston & Strawn, Hong Kong
  • Trainee Solicitor, Stephenson Harwood, Hong Kong

Education

  • London School of Economics, Master of Laws (Distinction in dissertation), 2007
  • University of Hong Kong, Postgraduate Certificate in Laws, 2006
  • University of Hong Kong, Bachelor of Laws (Hons), 2005
  • Duke University, Exchange Studies, 2005

Bar Admissions

  • Bermuda, Registered Associate 2019
  • British Virgin Islands, Solicitor, 2019
  • Hong Kong, Solicitor, 2010 (not currently practising)

Associations

  • INSOL

Languages

  • Cantonese
  • English
  • Mandarin

Area(s) of Expertise

Upcoming Firm Events