移动选单
新闻快报

冠状病毒:危机状态下的董事

在这个艰难时期,随着COVID-19疫情继续扰乱我们的日常生活,健康和安全是至关重要的。由于无法控制的因素导致商业环境瞬息万变,因此董事做出理性、合理的决策比以往任何时候都更为重要。

在本文中,我们仔细考虑了开曼群岛的董事可能面临的一些问题,以及在这个异常艰难时期如何履行自己的职责和义务。

谁是董事?

由开曼金融服务业的性质所定,许多开曼公司的董事都是独立的非执行董事。非执行董事既不是雇员,也不是行政管理团队的一员。非执行董事通常起着高级监管作用,密切关注执行团队的活动并参与公司战略的制定。从开曼法律的角度来看,执行董事与非执行董事的核心职责并没有实质性区别。

同样重要的是要考虑相同的职责和义务是否适用于管理层的其他成员。在开曼,法院认为,影子董事(即指挥董事但不被称为董事的人)、事实董事(即称为董事,但未经有效任命的人)、提名董事(即由特定股东提名的董事)以及(在某些情况下)高层经理都可能拥有与正式任命的董事相同的职责。

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
冠状病毒:危机状态下的董事

 


Jonathon Milne
合伙人 Partner

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7797
移动电话  +1 345 925 2952


Erik Bodden
合伙人 Partner

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7754


市场赞誉
_

"该所能积极高效地提供清晰、简明且易于执行的意见,同时极具商业意识,提供精简的解决方案。"
- Chambers Global

Mobile Menu
Articles

Coronavirus: Directors in Crisis Mode

As the financial and social impact of COVID-19 is felt across the globe, decision makers are facing and will continue to face serious challenges. In light of the rapidly evolving business environment, driven by factors largely outside of their control, it is more important than ever that directors make rational and well-reasoned decisions.

In this article, we consider some of the issues Cayman directors are likely to be faced with and how they might discharge their duties and obligations in these exceptionally difficult times.

Who is a director?

Due to the nature of the Cayman financial services industry, many directors of Cayman companies are independent non-executive directors. A non-executive director is neither an employee nor part of the executive management team. Non-executive directors often perform a high-level supervisory role, monitoring the activities of the executive team and participating in the development of corporate strategy. From a Cayman law standpoint, there is no substantial difference between the core duties of an executive director and non-executive director.

It is also important to consider whether the same duties and obligations apply to other members of the management structure. In Cayman, the courts have held that shadow directors (i.e. those who direct the directors but are not called directors), de facto directors (i.e. those who claim to be directors but are not validly appointed), nominee directors (i.e. those directors nominated by a particular shareholder), and, in some cases, senior managers may all have the same duties that apply to formally appointed directors.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
Coronavirus: Directors in Crisis Mode

 


Jonathon Milne
Partner

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7797
Mobile  +1 345 925 2952


Erik Bodden
Partner

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7754


Accolades
_

"They understood the urgency and demanding nature of the deals that we were working on - they were very responsive and commercial, and worked with us to make it happen."
- Chambers Global