移动选单
提示简报

英属维尔京群岛 – 经济实质守则

预计英属维尔京群岛国际税务局(“ITA”)将很快颁布其《经济实质守则》(“《守则》”)。《守则》将对解释2018年经济实质公司及有限合伙企业)法》)(“《经济实质法》”)的要求提供指引。

本简报对《经济实质法》的要求提供了最新指南,并兼顾到了《守则》中规定的规则。关于在英属维尔京群岛实施“经济实质”的要求,也提到了我们早前的客户简报。本简报应与那些简报一起阅读。

经济实质的要求

《经济实质法》要求所有在“财务期”从事“相关活动”“法律实体”在英属维尔京群岛建立经济实质。对于2019年1月1日之前注册成立的“法律实体”,“财务期”于2019年6月30日开始。

在上一段落中出现的带引号并加粗的术语在《经济实质法》中有所定义。这些术语的定义不是“标准”的定义,而是确定实施《经济实质法》的精确定义。这些定义参考了《经济实质法》及《守则》,也在本简报的附录1中列出。

英属维尔京群岛的所有公司和所有具有法人资格的有限合伙企业,无论其是否包括在“法律实体”或“相关活动”的定义中,均需根据《经济实质法》于2020年开始报告其上一个“财务期”是否遵守了《经济实质法》。 

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
英属维尔京群岛 – 经济实质守则

 


Robert J.D. Briant
合伙人 Partner, Head of BVI Corporate

英属维尔京群岛   +1 284 852 1100


Anton Goldstein
合伙人 Partner

英属维尔京群岛   +1 284 852 1119


Mark J. Forte
合伙人 Partner, Head of BVI Litigation & Restructuring and Office

英属维尔京群岛   +1 284 852 1113


市场赞誉
_

"康德明律师事务所尤其在处理资本市场事务方面是众多客户的‘首选’,‘即使时间紧迫亦能始终如一地提供一流服务’。"
- Legal 500

Mobile Menu
Alerts

British Virgin Islands – Economic Substance Code

It is anticipated that the International Tax Authority (the “ITA”) of the British Virgin Islands will soon issue its Economic Substance Code (the “Code”). The Code will provide guidance on interpreting the requirements of the Economic Substance (Companies and Limited Partnerships) Act, 2018 (the “ES Act”).

This bulletin provides updated guidance on the requirements of the ES Act taking into account the rules set out in the Code. Reference is made to our earlier client bulletins regarding the introduction of “economic substance” requirements in the British Virgin Islands. This bulletin should be read in conjunction with those other bulletins.

Economic Substance Requirements

The ES Act requires all Legal Entities carrying on a Relevant Activity during a Financial Period to establish economic substance in the BVI. For Legal Entities incorporated before 1 January 2019, the Financial Period starts on 30 June 2019.

The bold faced capitalised terms in the previous paragraph are defined in the ES Act. Their definitions are not ‘standard’ definitions, but rather are precise definitions which determine the application of the ES Act. Reference is made to the ES Act and the Code for the definitions, which are also set out in Appendix 1 to this bulletin.

Irrespective as to whether included in the definition of Legal Entity or Relevant Activity, all BVI companies and all limited partnerships with legal personality will need to make a report under the ES Act starting in 2020 as to their compliance with the ES Act during the previous Financial Period.    

Legal Entity

In short, a BVI company or a limited partnership with legal personality is a Legal Entity unless (a) it is resident for tax purposes in a jurisdiction outside of the BVI and (b) that jurisdiction is not on Annex 1 to the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, the “EU blacklist”.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
British Virgin Islands – Economic Substance Code

 


Robert J.D. Briant
Partner, Head of BVI Corporate

British Virgin Islands   +1 284 852 1100


Anton Goldstein
Partner

British Virgin Islands   +1 284 852 1119


Mark J. Forte
Partner, Head of BVI Litigation & Restructuring and Office

British Virgin Islands   +1 284 852 1113