Conyers is delighted to announce that Mr Cheng Ho Yin Leslie is the winner of the Conyers Dill & Pearman Prize in Commercial Law 2021-2022.

This annual scholarship is one of the many ways that Conyers supports students and future legal practitioners. The aim of this annual scholarship is to encourage the post-graduate pursuit of legal knowledge and recognise outstanding academic performance of students in the area of commercial law. The scholarship is awarded to law students who have excelled among their peers and demonstrate great potential in the legal profession.

Leslie recently completed his Master of Laws in Corporate and Financial Law at The University of Hong Kong. He is currently a full-time student enrolled on the PCLL at The University of Hong Kong.

“Thank you very much to Conyers for sponsoring the Prize and for supporting students like myself in pursuing their interests!” commented Leslie. “I was inspired to study corporate and financial law partially because of my hometown Hong Kong – our robust legal regime in these two commercial sectors serves as the fundamental building block of what makes Hong Kong so competitive as a financial centre, and I wanted a more concrete understanding of the underlying regulatory principles. I was also fuelled by an academic interest in corporate law after having thoroughly enjoyed a related course during my undergraduate studies.

As to what motivates me – I like to look at the reasons behind any piece of regulation, understand the legal principles, and see their application in the real world. My course choices on the LLM(CFL) are just the right mix of practical regulatory knowledge and academic scrutiny of the underlying theories, which kept me motivated throughout the programme.”

The Conyers Dill & Pearman Prize in Commercial Law was established in 2010 by Conyers’ Hong Kong office in conjunction with The University of Hong Kong. The prize is valued at US$5,000 (HK$39,000) and is awarded to the LLM student who displays the best overall performance in the Master of Laws in Corporate and Financial Law programme. The recipient is selected by the University of Hong Kong’s Faculty of Law Board.


Stay current with our latest legal insights and subscribe today