移动选单
新闻稿

鉴于COVID-19大流行,担心出现赎回潮的基金可实行的资产净值暂停和门控以及其他可选方案

COVID-19对市场和全球经济产生了广泛的影响,企业疲于应对由此带来的冲击。资产价值的下降可能会降低基金的整体价值。投资者可能会设法赎回其投资,因为他们需要履行自己的财务承诺并且/或者他们对基金的信心可能降低。这会导致基金无法以惯常的方式满足赎回要求而同时仍然维持基金的价值。本文讨论了面临赎回潮的基金可以采用的一些方案。

背景

对冲基金是集体投资工具,从投资者那里汇集资金,根据一种或多种特定的投资策略进行投资。大多数对冲基金都有两层或三层结构(支线基金和主基金),该工具主要在开曼群岛或英属维尔京群岛设立(有时含有在岸支线基金)。投资者通过支线基金注入资金,支线基金再将资金注入主基金。

当市场崩溃(如2008年)或遭受损失时,投资者可能出于各种原因设法赎回其股份,这些原因包括:履行自己的财务承诺,削减亏损,在其他地方投资以及更改投资策略。这可能给基金带来巨大压力,因为基金在遇到大量赎回要求时会难以维持其价值。如果投资者赎回了基金但未获得付款,那么作为债权人,他们的地位将高于其他投资者,因而该基金可能面临清盘的危险。

在开曼群岛注册成立的基金公司有多种可选方案。首先要注意的是,公司的章程会规定允许其赎回股份的依据,并且该程序存在法定时效。本文并非是针对每个特定程序的详尽指南,每个公司都必须审查其章程文件并应用法定的规则。在基金面临大量赎回要求时,无论情况如何,都应寻求紧急法律咨询。我们在这里列出了面临大量赎回请求的基金惯常采用的一些方案。

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
鉴于COVID-19大流行,担心出现赎回潮的基金可实行的资产净值暂停和门控以及其他可选方案

 


Ben Hobden
合伙人 Partner

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7366


Sarah McLennan
律师 Associate

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7364


市场赞誉
_

"康德明律师事务所尤其在处理资本市场事务方面是众多客户的‘首选’,‘即使时间紧迫亦能始终如一地提供一流服务’。"
- Legal 500

Mobile Menu
Articles

Suspending NAV, Gating and Options for Funds Fearing a Rush of Redemptions in Light of the COVID-19 Pandemic

COVID-19 is having a widespread impact on markets and the global economy as businesses struggle with the disruption caused.  Falling asset values are likely to reduce the overall value of funds. Investors may seek to redeem their investments as they need to fulfill their own financial commitments and/or their confidence in the fund may reduce. This can lead to funds being unable to meet redemption requests in the usual way whilst still maintaining the value of the fund. This article discusses some of the options available to funds facing a run on redemptions.

Background

Hedge funds are collective investment vehicles, pooling money from investors and investing it according to a particular investment strategy or strategies. Most hedge funds are organised as two or three-tier structures (feeder funds and master funds) with the vehicles incorporated primarily in the Cayman Islands or the British Virgin Islands (sometimes with an onshore feeder fund). The investors enter through feeder funds, which channel funds into the master funds.

When the market crashes (as in 2008), or suffers losses, investors may seek to redeem their shares for a variety of reasons including: fulfilling their own financial commitments, cutting their losses, investing elsewhere and changing investment strategy. This can put immense pressure on the fund as it struggles to maintain value when experiencing a run of redemption requests. If investors redeem and are unpaid, as creditors they rank above the other investors, and the fund may face being wound up.

There are a range of options available to funds with their companies incorporated in the Cayman Islands. The first point to note is that the company’s articles will set out the basis on which it is permitted to redeem its shares and there are statutory limitations on the process. This article is not an exhaustive guide to every particular process, each company’s constitutional documents will have to be reviewed and the statutory rules applied. Urgent legal advice should be sought in all instances in which a fund faces a litany of redemption requests. Here we set out some options that have been commonly used by funds facing a rush of redemption requests.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
Suspending NAV, Gating and Options for Funds Fearing a Rush of Redemptions in Light of the COVID-19 Pandemic

 


Ben Hobden
Partner

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7366


Sarah McLennan
Associate

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7364


Accolades
_

"Few firms can come close to Conyers on one critical metric, and this is the breadth of the client base."
- IFLR1000