移动选单
业务及交易

康德明律师事务所就McDermott重组及摆脱《破产法》第11章向特别贷方团提供咨询

康德明律师事务所就McDermott International, Inc.(迈克德莫特国际公司)及其附属债务人(统称为“McDermott”)的《破产法》第11章事宜向一个特别设立的、由申请前担保定期贷款人和债务人占有(DIP)定期贷款人组成的贷方团(“特别贷方”)提供了百慕大的法律咨询,包括在组建、监管、证券和治理方面的意见。

McDermott于2020年1月21日根据《破产法》第11章向美国德克萨斯州南区美国破产法院休斯顿分院提交了自愿救济申请,以寻求一份联合预包装第11章重组计划(“计划”),并与特别贷方、申请前信用证放款人、特别债券持有人团体和其他各方签订了一个全面的重组支持协议。

McDermott的计划于2019年3月12日获得批准,其中规定把大约40亿美元的债务股权化,特别贷方将按比例获得重组股权的94%和5亿美元的回收债务以及以27.25亿美元出售McDermott的Lummus Technology的业务,以偿还DIP融资。

在完成了该计划打算实施的一系列交易后,重组后的McDermott于2020年6月30日摆脱了破产,拥有了新的资本结构,包括一家新的百慕大控股母公司、新的定期贷款和信用证退出贷款以及新成立的董事会。

康德明律师事务所百慕大办事处的董事Jason Piney、Marcello Ausenda和伦敦办事处的律师Karoline Tauschke与达维律师事务所合作,就此事提供了法律意见。

 


Jason Piney
董事 Director

百慕大   +1 441 299 4993


Marcello Ausenda
董事 Director

百慕大   +1 441 299 4954


Karoline Tauschke
律师 Associate

伦敦   +44 20 7562 0346


市场赞誉
_

"极少律师事务所拥有能与康德明比肩的庞大客户群。"
- IFLR1000

Mobile Menu
Deals & Transactions

Conyers advises an Ad hoc group of lenders in connection with the McDermott Restructuring and Emergence from Chapter 11 Bankruptcy

Conyers provided Bermuda law corporate advice including advice on structuring, regulatory, securities and governance matters to an ad hoc group of prepetition secured term lenders and DIP term lenders (the “Ad Hoc Lenders”) in connection with the chapter 11 cases of McDermott International, Inc. and its affiliated debtors (collectively, “McDermott”).

McDermott filed voluntary petitions for relief under chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas, Houston Division on January 21, 2020 to pursue a Joint Pre-packaged Chapter 11 Plan of Reorganization (the “Plan”) and entered into a comprehensive restructuring support agreement (the “RSA”) with the Ad Hoc Lenders, prepetition LC lenders, an ad hoc bondholder group and other parties.

McDermott’s Plan was confirmed on March 12, 2019, providing for, among other things, an equitization of approximately US$4 billion of debt, with the Ad Hoc Lenders receiving pro rata shares of 94% of the reorganized equity and US$500 million of take-back debt and the sale of McDermott’s Lummus Technology business for US$2.725 billion, in order to, among other things, repay the DIP facility.

Upon the consummation of a series of transactions contemplated by the Plan, a reorganized McDermott emerged from bankruptcy on 30 June 2020 with a new capital structure, which included a new Bermuda parent holding company, new term loan and letter of credit exit facilities and a newly constituted Board of Directors.

Directors Jason Piney and Marcello Ausenda of Conyers’ Bermuda office and Associate Karoline Tauschke of Conyers’ London office worked alongside Davis Polk on the matter.

 


Jason Piney
Director

Bermuda   +1 441 299 4993


Marcello Ausenda
Director

Bermuda   +1 441 299 4954



Accolades
_

"I enjoy working with them - they are very dependable, reliable and responsive."
- Chambers Global