移动选单
提示简报

在百慕大或从百慕大境内管理或促销外国投资基金须符合新的注册规定

4月 2020 Elizabeth Denman

百慕大的《投资基金法》最新修正案现在要求在百慕大以外的管辖区设立的某些投资基金必须定名为“海外投资基金”并在百慕大金融管理局以相同的名称注册。这些新的注册要求可能适用于所有“范围”的投资基金,包括但不限于封闭式和私募股权工具。

对《2006年投资基金法》(“《法令》”)进行了修改的《2019年投资基金修正法》(“《修正法》”)于2020年1月1日生效,规定了外国(即非百慕大设立的)投资基金在百慕大的新注册制度,此类基金“在百慕大或从百慕大境内”进行管理、营销、促销和/或出售(统称为“基金促销”)。在此之前,非百慕大设立的投资基金进行的基金促销不受《法令》规定的监管。从2020年1月1日起,除非《法令》范围内的外国投资基金在百慕大金融管理局(BMA)根据《法令》定名为并注册为“海外投资基金”,否则不得在百慕大或从百慕大境内管理或促销此类基金。

《修正法》包含针对以下外国投资基金的过渡性条款:(i) 现在符合“海外投资基金”的新定义;和 (ii) 在2020年1月1日之前从事过基金促销活动(每个基金均称为“祖父基金”)。每个祖父基金皆获许可在2020年6月30日(“祖父期”)之前遵照《法令》条款进行注册。祖父基金可在祖父期内继续进行基金促销,但须在2020年6月30日或之前办理注册。

需要重点强调的是:(i) 在生效日期之后被纳入《法令》范围但未成为祖父基金的外国投资基金必须在进行任何基金促销之前立即完成注册;以及 (ii) 新的注册要求是针对基金的。对于可能是一个更广泛的投资基金集团的其中一个基金来说,注册无法避免,其中一些基金可能已按规定注册。

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
在百慕大或从百慕大境内管理或促销外国投资基金须符合新的注册规定

 


Elizabeth Denman
董事 Director

百慕大   +1 441 278 7842


市场赞誉
_

"康德明律师事务所尤其在处理资本市场事务方面是众多客户的‘首选’,‘即使时间紧迫亦能始终如一地提供一流服务’。"
- Legal 500

Mobile Menu
Alerts

Foreign Investment Funds Managed or Promoted In or From Within Bermuda Subject to New Registration Requirements

April 2020 Elizabeth Denman

Recent amendments to Bermuda’s Investment Funds Act now require certain investment funds, organized in jurisdictions outside of Bermuda, to be designated and register as “Overseas Investment Funds” with the Bermuda Monetary Authority. These new registration requirements potentially apply to all “in scope” investment funds including, but not limited to, closed-ended and private equity vehicles.

The Investment Funds Amendment Act 2019 (the “Amendment Act”), which amends the Investment Funds Act 2006 (the “Act”) came into force on 1 January 2020, and provides for a new system of registration in Bermuda for foreign (i.e. non Bermuda organized) investment funds, where such funds are managed, marketed, promoted and/or sold “in and from within” Bermuda (collectively “Fund Promotion”). Previously, Fund Promotion undertaken by non-Bermuda organized investment funds was not subject to regulation pursuant to the provisions of the Act. Commencing on 1 January 2020, no foreign investment fund which is in scope of the Act may be managed or carry on promotion in or from within Bermuda, unless designated and registered as an “Overseas Investment Fund” by the Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA) pursuant to the terms of the Act.

The Amendment Act contains a transitional provision for those foreign investment funds (FIFs) which: (i) now meet the new definition of an “Overseas Investment Fund”; and (ii) were engaged in Fund Promotion prior to 1 January 2020 (each a “Grandfathered Fund”). Each Grandfathered Fund has been granted a period ending on 30 June 2020 (the “Grandfather Period”) to comply with the terms of the Act and to become registered. Grandfathered Funds may continue to undertake Fund Promotion during the Grandfather Period provided the registration of such Grandfathered Fund is affected on or before 30 June 2020.

It is important to note that: (i) FIFs that become in scope of the Act after the Commencement Date and which have not been grandfathered are required to complete their registration immediately and prior to any Fund Promotion being undertaken; and (ii) the new registration requirements are fund-specific.  There is no sheltering for an investment fund which may be a member of a wider group of investment funds, some of which may already be duly registered.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
Foreign Investment Funds Managed or Promoted In or From Within Bermuda Subject to New Registration Requirements

 


Elizabeth Denman
Director

Bermuda   +1 441 278 7842


Accolades
_

"They understood the urgency and demanding nature of the deals that we were working on - they were very responsive and commercial, and worked with us to make it happen."
- Chambers Global