移动选单
提示简报

第一部 – 康德明在3个月内成功获得针对开曼群岛基金投资经理的清盘令

Kawaley法官针对Airstream Investment Ltd(下称“该公司”,一家根据开曼群岛法律注册成立的豁免公司)颁布了清盘令。康德明代表I-Tiger Global Investment Management Limited(下称“呈请人”)获得胜诉。根据清盘令,Kroll (Cayman) Limited的Mitchell Mansfield及Samuel Cole获委任为该公司的联席正式清盘人。

根据本案的投资顾问协议及其补充协议,呈请人有权因其作为Premier Life Settlement Fund SP(下称“基金”,Aquam Funds SPC的独立投资组合)的投资顾问所提供服务而获得报酬。这笔报酬(连同其他事宜)明订应由公司作为基金的投资经理支付(下称“债务”)。因长时间未有收到付款,呈请人便联络康德明以协助寻求针对该公司的清盘令。

根据开曼群岛公司法(2023年修订版)第92(d)条,若公司无法偿还债务,法院可将其清盘。若开曼群岛公司拖欠债权人100开曼元或以上,即约120美元,并且债权人收款未果,其可提交法定要求偿债书以要求支付未偿债务。若债权人在法定要求偿债书送达后21天内未收到付款,则根据第92(d)条,公司视为无力偿还债务,并可对其提出清盘申请。

康德明于2023年10月4日就债务向该公司送达了法定要求偿债书。该公司未能在法定要求偿债书送达后21天内履行法定要求偿债。因此,公司于2023年11月2日遭提出清盘申请。

若能够证明案情足够紧急,债权人有可能在更短的时间内,于开曼群岛获得针对如该公司的债务人的济助。

点击此处阅读本系列的第二部。

 


林宛萱 Anna Lin
合伙人 Partner

香港   +852 2842 9591
移动电话  +852 6469 3381



Ernest Bickley 白丞恩
法律经理 Legal Manager

香港   +852 2842 9402
移动电话  +852 9133 7490


Spencer Vickers
合伙人 Partner

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7757


Sean-Anna Thompson
律师 Associate

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7752


市场赞誉
_

"康德明严谨处理每个细节,为客户提供优质的法律服务"
- 国际金融法律评论1000强, 2023

The Honourable Mr Justice Kawaley granted a winding up order against Airstream Investment Ltd (the “Company”), an exempted company incorporated under the laws of the Cayman Islands. Conyers acted for the successful petitioner, I-Tiger Global Investment Management Limited (the “Petitioner”). Mitchell Mansfield and Samuel Cole of Kroll (Cayman) Limited were appointed as joint official liquidators of the Company pursuant to the winding up order.

Pursuant to an Investment Advisory Agreement and a Supplemental Agreement thereto, the Petitioner was entitled to remuneration for its services rendered as an Investment Advisor to Premier Life Settlement Fund SP (the “Fund”), a segregated portfolio of Aquam Funds SPC. This fee was expressed to be payable inter alia by the Company as the Investment Manager of the Fund (the “Debt”). After a significant period of non-payment, the Petitioner approached Conyers for assistance in seeking a winding-up order against the Company.

Under Section 92(d) of the Cayman Islands Companies Act (2023 Revision), a company may be wound up by the Court if it is unable to pay its debts. When creditors are owed CI$100 or more by a Cayman Islands company and have attempted to collect their money without success, they may present a statutory demand for payment of the outstanding debt. If a creditor does not receive payment within 21 days of service of the statutory demand, the company is deemed unable to pay its debts within the meaning of section 92(d) and a winding-up petition may be presented against it.

Conyers effected service of a statutory demand for the Debt on the Company on 4 October 2023. The Company failed to comply with the statutory demand within 21 days of service. A winding-up petition was consequently issued against the Company on 2 November 2023.

In circumstances where the facts of the case demonstrate sufficient urgency, it is possible for a creditor to obtain relief in the Cayman Islands against a debtor such as the Company within an even shorter timeframe.

Stay current with our latest legal insights and subscribe today