移动选单
专业见解

业务摘要﹕主要项目及交易 – 2020 年冬季

本摘要重点描述了自2020年初以来康德明律师事务所的律师们为全球市场的企业客户开展的一些重要法律工作。业务案例包括重要的重组、首次公开招股、并购以及融资交易,涉及广泛的行业领域,包括保险、银行、投资基金、航空、船运、能源、电信、房地产开发、医疗保健、教育等。

2019冠状病毒病(Covid-19)大流行所产生的经济影响是非常严重而且是长远的。我们看到,本来前途光明的公司被迫重组其债务和业务结构,试图挽救正在进行的交易,把破产的乌云甩在身后。看到公司重组和再融资的增加,我们并不感到惊讶。

在百慕大,本年度最大的业务案例是Digicel进行的70亿美元重组,其中涉及一项创新的百慕大重组安排计划。此外,还有若干涉及邮轮和航空业的重大融资案例,例如嘉年华公司(Carnival Corporation)的60亿美元私募以及Avolon Holdings的两次私募总计24亿美元。保险业的并购活动仍在继续,有两个大型私有化案例,还代理了一宗当地知名的交易,就是阿冈昆电力与公共事业公司(Algonquin Power Utilities)收购了拥有百慕大发电厂的Ascendant Group。

英属维尔京群岛的并购案例包括为AquaVenture Holdings Ltd以11亿美元被Culligan收购提供法律咨询,按交易价值计算,这是对英属维尔京群岛上市公司的最大收购案之一。在融资方面,康德明为拉丁美洲领先的在线旅游公司Despegar提供了一系列融资交易方面的法律建议,这些交易筹集了2亿美元,用于提高公司受Covid-19冲击的流动资金水平,并且就其收购巴西一家在线支付平台84%的股权向其提供了法律咨询。对于英属维尔京群岛基金而言,今年也是忙碌的一年,为Kawa、ACE & Company以及Orbimed Partners Ltd等客户开展了大量工作。

在开曼群岛,Stonegate Pub的15.7亿美元债券发行计划是自2013年以来英国最大的发行计划。拉丁美洲的业务保持强劲:巴西远程学习公司Vitru在纳斯达克进行了首次公开募股,而巴西面部识别公司Acesso Digital则获得了1.075亿美元的融资。在并购方面,康德明就英国领先的、独立的北海石油和天然气集团Chrysaor提议通过反向收购与Premier Oil plc合并向其提供了法律咨询,这将创建在伦敦证券交易所上市的最大的独立石油和天然气公司。还有不少与保险相关的案例,包括成立价值10亿美元的Ivy Co-Investment Vehicle LLC。

我们位于香港和新加坡的办事处在2020年继续代理了大量交易,特别是在资本市场方面。两个办事处的首次公开募股活动仍然很活跃,其中包括中芯国际集成电路制造有限公司(Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation)以66亿美元在上海证券交易所科创板上市,这是中国十年来最大的首次公开募股。我们的亚洲办事处还为至少75种票据的发行提供了开曼群岛和英属维尔京群岛的法律咨询,其中许多是中国公司发行的,募集的资金超过316亿美元。

我们希望本摘要对我们的法律同事、客户和市场追随者都具有意义。

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
业务摘要﹕主要项目及交易 – 2020 年冬季

 


Graham B.R. Collis
Director, Head of Bermuda Corporate

百慕大   +1 441 299 4965


Robert J.D. Briant
合伙人 Partner, Head of BVI Corporate

英属维尔京群岛   +1 284 852 1100


Matthew Stocker
合伙人 Partner, Head of Cayman Corporate Practice

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7382


白基诺 Christopher W.H. Bickley
合伙人,香港办事处负责人 Partner, Head of Hong Kong Office

香港   +852 2842 9556
移动电话  +852 6469 3356


Eric Flaye
律师 Associate

伦敦   +44 (0)207 562 0341


Preetha Pillai
董事,新加坡办事处负责人 Director, Head of Singapore office

新加坡   +65 6603 0707


市场赞誉
_

"该所能积极高效地提供清晰、简明且易于执行的意见,同时极具商业意识,提供精简的解决方案。"
- Chambers Global

Mobile Menu
Newsletters

Corporate Digest: Notable Deals and Transactions – Winter 2020

This digest highlights some of the significant legal work carried out by Conyers’ lawyers since the start of 2020 for our corporate clients in markets around the globe. The deals include significant restructurings, IPOs, mergers and acquisitions, and finance transactions across a wide range of industry sectors including insurance, banking, investment funds, aviation, shipping, energy, telecoms, property development, healthcare, education and more.

The economic impact of the Covid-19 pandemic has been severe and far-reaching. We are seeing otherwise viable companies forced to restructure liabilities and business structures to try and salvage ongoing trading and keep ahead of the dark cloud of insolvency. It is no surprise that we have seen a rise in corporate restructurings and re-financings.

In Bermuda, the biggest deal of the year was the US$7 billion Digicel restructuring which involved an innovative Bermuda scheme of arrangement. There were also a number of significant financing deals involving the cruise line and aviation sectors, such as Carnival Corporation’s US$6 billion private offering and Avolon Holdings’ two private offerings totalling US$2.4 billion. M&A activity continued in the insurance sector, and there were two sizeable take-private deals, as well as the locally high-profile acquisition by Algonquin Power Utilities of the Ascendant Group, which owns Bermuda’s power plant.

BVI M&A deals included advising AquaVenture Holdings Ltd on its US$1.1 billion acquisition by Culligan, one of the largest takeovers of a publicly-listed BVI company by transaction value. On the finance side, the firm advised Despegar, the leading online travel company in Latin America, on a series of financing transactions raising US$200 million to augment the company’s liquidity levels which had been hit by Covid-19, and advised on its acquisition of an 84% equity stake in a Brazilian online payment platform. It was also a busy year for BVI funds with significant work for clients such as Kawa, ACE & Company and Orbimed Partners Ltd.

In the Cayman Islands, Stonegate Pub’s US$1.57 billion bond issuance program was the largest in the UK since 2013. LatAm deals remained strong: Brazilian distance learning company, Vitru, had an IPO on Nasdaq and Brazilian facial-recognition company Acesso Digital had a US$107.5 million funding round. On the M&A side, the firm advised Chrysaor the UK’s leading independent North Sea oil and gas group, on its proposed merger with Premier Oil plc through a reverse takeover, which will create the largest independent oil and gas company listed on the London Stock Exchange. There have been a number of insurance-related deals, including the establishment of US$1 billion Ivy Co-Investment Vehicle LLC.

Our offices in Hong Kong and Singapore have continued to see significant deal flow in 2020, particularly with regard to capital markets. IPO activity remained strong and included China’s largest IPO in a decade, the US$6.6 billion listing on Shanghai STAR market of Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation. Our Asia offices also provided Cayman and BVI law advice on at least 75 notes offerings, many by PRC companies, raising over US$31.6 billion.

We hope this digest will be of interest to our legal colleagues, clients and market followers.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
Corporate Digest: Notable Deals and Transactions – Winter 2020

 


Graham B.R. Collis
Director, Head of Bermuda Corporate

Bermuda   +1 441 299 4965


Robert J.D. Briant
Partner, Head of BVI Corporate

British Virgin Islands   +1 284 852 1100


Matthew Stocker
Partner, Head of Cayman Corporate Practice

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7382


Christopher W.H. Bickley
Partner, Head of Hong Kong Office

Hong Kong   +852 2842 9556
Mobile  +852 6469 3356


Eric Flaye
Associate

London   +44 (0)207 562 0341


Preetha Pillai
Director, Head of Singapore office

Singapore   +65 6603 0707


Accolades
_

"They are incredibly responsive, and their advice is clear, concise and accessible. They are very commercial and give us succinct answers to questions."
- Chambers Global