移动选单
新闻快报

COVID-19与开曼群岛的保险业

3月 2020 Alex Potts QC

COVID-19可能为国内及国际保险业的所有业务领域带来前所未有的挑战。世界范围内已确认的感染人数不断增加,政府及私营行业也正在采取应对措施,在这种情况下,COVID-19有可能造成非常重大的损失以及相关的法律纠纷。

开曼群岛是近800家持牌保险公司和中介机构的所在地,是全球自我保险公司的第二大场所,在全球医疗保健和医疗事故责任自保业中排名第一。美国劳工赔偿业务是开曼群岛自我保险业的另一大组成部分。

开曼群岛还拥有活跃的巨灾债券和保险相关证券业务,许多巨灾债券是通过开曼群岛的特殊目的公司发行的。

开曼群岛也是众多保险实体的所在地,包括对冲基金和私募股权基金,公开上市的国际控股公司以及专业服务提供商。其中许多实体从伦敦、百慕大、香港、新加坡和开曼群岛购买商业保险和再保险,涵盖广泛的风险和责任,包括董监事责任、管理责任、专业赔偿(错误和遗漏)及网络责任。

此外,开曼群岛还拥有重要的本地旅游、建筑、大型活动和房地产行业,大量的酒店、餐馆和本地开发项目最近已经完工或正在建设。

虽然现在就对COVID-19造成的所有潜在保险损失(无论是与开曼群岛相关的还是与全球相关的)进行评估还为时过早,但值得注意的是,2003年SARS疫情在香港的历史中是第四大保险损失事件,引发的法律纠纷和上诉直至香港终审法院(案例参见新世界海景酒店有限公司诉安达保险有限公司 [2012] HKCFA 21,业务中断保险索赔)。

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
COVID-19与开曼群岛的保险业

 


Alex Potts QC
合伙人、开曼群岛诉讼及重组部主管 Partner, Head of Cayman Islands Litigation & Restructuring

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7394


市场赞誉
_

"极少律师事务所拥有能与康德明比肩的庞大客户群。"
- IFLR1000

Mobile Menu
Articles

COVID-19 and the Cayman Islands’ Insurance Sector

March 2020 Alex Potts QC

COVID-19 is likely to present unprecedented challenges for the insurance industry, across all Iines of business, both domestic and international. Between the increasing number of confirmed infections worldwide, and the steps being taken in response by Governments and the private sector, COVID-19 has the potential to give rise to very significant losses, and associated legal disputes.

As a home for almost 700 licensed insurance and reinsurance companies, the Cayman Islands are the second largest domicile in the world for captive insurance companies, and Cayman holds the number one position worldwide for healthcare and Medical Malpractice Liability captives. US Workers’ Compensation business makes up another large component of the Cayman Islands’ captive sector.

The Cayman Islands also separately hosts a growing reinsurance industry and a reasonably active catastrophe bond and ILS sector.

The Cayman Islands are also home to a large number of insured entities, including hedge funds and private equity funds, publicly listed international holding companies, and professional service providers. Many of these entities purchase commercial insurance and reinsurance out of London, Bermuda, Hong Kong, Singapore, and the Cayman Islands, covering a wide range of risks and liabilities, including Directors’ and Officers’ liability, Management Liability, Professional Indemnity (Errors & Omissions), and Cyber liability.

Additionally, the Cayman Islands has a significant local tourism, construction, events, and real estate industry, with a large number of hotels, restaurants, and local development projects either recently completed, or actively underway.

Although it is too early to try to place a definitive value on total potential COVID-19 insured losses (whether related to the Cayman Islands or globally), it is worth noting that the SARS-epidemic in 2003 was the fourth-largest insurance loss event in Hong Kong’s history, generating legal disputes and appeals all the way to Hong Kong’s Court of Final Appeal (see, for example, New World Harbourview Hotel Co Ltd v. Ace Insurance Ltd [2012] HKCFA 21, a business interruption insurance claim).

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
COVID-19 and the Cayman Islands’ Insurance Sector

 


Alex Potts QC
Partner, Head of Cayman Islands Litigation & Restructuring

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7394


Accolades
_

"Few firms can come close to Conyers on one critical metric, and this is the breadth of the client base."
- IFLR1000