移动选单
提示简报

百慕大修订数字资产业务的发牌制度

《2019年数字资产业务修正案》(Digital Asset Business Amendment Act 2019,下称“DABA 修正案”)于 10 月 8 日生效,该修正案对百慕大现行的数字资产业务规管法例进行了修订,包括将发牌制度的范围扩大到涵盖数字资产衍生品、数字资产基准管理人和数字资产信托服务提供商。DABA 修正案旨在确保百慕大在数字资产监管方面保持领先地位,并为相关权益属数字资产的金融产品提供了监管框架。

10 月 2 日,百慕大议会通过了《2018 年数字资产业务法》(Digital Asset Business Act 2018,下称“DABA”)的修正案。DABA 修正案为了加强百慕大金融管理局(BMA)对数字资产服务提供商的监管,规定下列人士也需获得 BMA 发牌,方可于百慕大开展数字资产活动:


  • 数字资产衍生品交易所提供商,指经营数字资产衍生品交易所,且提供 (a) 创建、出售或以其他方式订立数字资产衍生品合约及/或 (b) 数字资产衍生品的结算和交收等服务的人士。数字资产衍生品包括期权、掉期、期货、差价合约或基于数字资产相关权益的任何其他工具。

  • 数字资产基准管理人,指对数字资产基准的设立拥有控制权的人士,数字资产基准的定义是“周期性或定期地通过套用公式或基于一项或多项相关资产的价值或价格(包括估计价格、实际或估计利率或其他价值)或调查而确定,并予以公开或发布的任何比率、指数或数字,借以确定数字资产项下的应付款额或数字资产的价值”。

  • 数字资产信托服务提供商,指从事为数字资产的行政和管理目的而代表他人担任受信人、代理人或受托人的业务的人士。


此外,DABA 修正案全面修订了“电子交易所”的概念,转而引入两种形式的交易所:数字资产交易所数字资产衍生品交易所

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
百慕大修订数字资产业务的发牌制度

 


Chris Garrod
Director, Insurance and Technology

百慕大   +1 441 299 4923


Jacqueline King
律师 Associate

百慕大   +1 441 279 5327


市场赞誉
_

"极少律师事务所拥有能与康德明比肩的庞大客户群。"
- IFLR1000

Mobile Menu
Alerts

Bermuda Amends Licensing Regime for Digital Assets Businesses

The Digital Asset Business Amendment Act 2019 (“DABA Amendment Act”), which became operative on 8 October, amends the existing legislation governing digital assets businesses in Bermuda, including expanding the scope of the licensing regime to include digital assets derivatives, digital asset benchmark administrators and digital asset trust service providers. The DABA Amendment Act is intended to ensure that Bermuda remains a leading jurisdiction in the regulation of digital assets and provides a framework for the regulation of financial products for which the underlying interests are digital assets.

The amendments to the Digital Asset Business Act 2018 (“DABA”) were passed by the Bermuda Parliament on 2 October. The DABA Amendment Act makes provision for the enhancement of oversight by the Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA) of digital asset service providers and brings the following into scope of those requiring a licence from the BMA to conduct digital assets activities in Bermuda:

  • Digital asset derivative exchange providers, meaning persons operating a digital asset derivative exchange and that provide the services of (a) creating, selling or otherwise entering into digital asset derivatives contracts and/or (b) clearing and settlement of digital assert derivatives. Digital asset derivatives include options, swaps, futures, contracts for differences or any other instrument based on a digital asset underlying interest.
  • Digital asset benchmark administrators, meaning persons that have control over the provision of a digital asset benchmark, which is defined as “any rate, index or figure, made available to the public or published that is periodically or regularly determined by the application of a formula to, or on the basis of, the value of one or more underlying assets or prices, including estimated prices, actual or estimated interest rates or other values, or surveys, and by reference to which the amount payable under a digital asset or the value of a digital asset is determined”.
  • Digital asset trust services providers, meaning persons who carry on the business of acting as a fiduciary, agent or trustee on behalf of another person for the purpose of administration and management of a digital asset.

In addition, the DABA Amendment Act overhauled the concept of “electronic exchanges” and introduced instead two forms of exchanges: digital asset exchanges and digital asset derivative exchanges.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
Bermuda Amends Licensing Regime for Digital Assets Businesses

 


Chris Garrod
Director, Head of Fintech

Bermuda   +1 441 299 4923


Jacqueline King
Associate

Bermuda   +1 441 279 5327


Accolades
_

"Few firms can come close to Conyers on one critical metric, and this is the breadth of the client base."
- IFLR1000