移动选单
新闻快报

冠状病毒:压力之下履行义务

3月 2020 Jonathon Milne

随着COVID-19对财务和社会的影响遍及全球,决策者正面临并将继续面临严峻挑战。但是,随着旅行禁令的实施、检疫隔离的加强以及对货物流动的限制,全球供应链和整个商业都将承受巨大压力。许多政府为“拉平曲线”和保护民众而采取的前所未有的措施将对企业产生持续影响,也将引发许多法律问题。

开曼群岛以前被迫应对过极端事件(例如2004年的伊万飓风),缔约双方在达成协议时通常未考虑到其后果。伊万飓风和新型冠状病毒是异常事件的最好例证,这些事件可能会妨碍缔约方履行义务。在本文中,我们考虑了在缔约方可能无法履行合同义务的情况下,在开曼群岛可以采用的补救措施。我们特别将重点放在普通法的受挫原则和不可抗力条款的可执行性上。

受挫

在开曼等实行普通法的司法管辖区,受挫原则用于处理合同缔约方无法履行合同中的一项或多项义务的情况。要动用受挫原则,未履行合同必须与不可预见的事件联系在一起,不得因为任何一方的失误而导致动用该原则。在这种情况下,合同可能被视为“受挫”并立即终止。

在根据COVID-19疫情来裁决是否取消合同时,开曼法院将分析合同的主要目的。如果主要使命和目标仍然能够达成,则法院不太可能允许缔约方仰仗受挫原则,免除其义务。开曼法院不愿强行终止协议不足为奇。开曼无疑是世界领先的金融服务中心。在当今时代,开曼法院注意到合同自由是至关重要的,认为必须允许富有经验的缔约方进行谈判并商定他们自己的商务条款(案例请参见枢密院最近对Fairfield Sentry诉Migani案和Primeo诉Pearson案的裁决)。

是否启用受挫原则将取决于相关合同的条款和根本目的。随着政府对民众和货物的流动施加了限制,而且工作场所也无限期关闭,缔约方需要与法律顾问一起研究合同是否因冠状病毒本身和/或其他无法控制的外部因素而受挫。

 

继续阅读PDF格式的完整文章:
冠状病毒:压力之下履行义务

 


Jonathon Milne
合伙人 Partner

开曼群岛   +1 345 814 7797
移动电话  +1 345 925 2952


市场赞誉
_

"极少律师事务所拥有能与康德明比肩的庞大客户群。"
- IFLR1000

Mobile Menu
Articles

Coronavirus: Performing Under Pressure

March 2020 Jonathon Milne

During these difficult times, as the COVID-19 outbreak continues to disrupt our daily lives, health and safety is paramount. However, as travel bans are implemented, quarantines are enforced and restrictions are placed on the flow of goods, the global supply chain and commerce in general will be put under immense pressure.  The unprecedented measures many governments are taking to ‘flatten the curve’ and protect the human population will have a flow-on effect for business and raise a number of legal issues.

The Cayman Islands have had to deal with extreme events in the past (e.g. Hurricane Ivan in 2004), which often have repercussions that were not contemplated by contractual counter-parties at the time their agreements were entered into. Hurricane Ivan and the novel coronavirus are prime examples of exceptional events which may prevent the performance of obligations. In this article, we consider remedies available in Cayman in circumstances where parties may be unable to perform their contractual obligations. In particular, we focus on the common law doctrine of frustration and the enforceability of force majeure clauses.

Frustration

In common law jurisdictions, such as Cayman, the doctrine of frustration is designed to deal with situations where parties to a contract are incapable of performing one or more obligations under that contract. In order to invoke frustration, non-performance must be linked to an unforeseen event and must not arise out of the failings of either party. In such circumstances, the contract may be deemed ‘frustrated’ and terminated with immediate effect.

In deciding whether or not to cancel a contract in light of the COVID-19 outbreak, the Cayman courts will analyse the primary purpose of the contract. If the principal mission and object can still be achieved, the court is unlikely to allow parties to rely upon the doctrine of frustration and be absolved of their obligations. It is unsurprising that the Cayman courts are reluctant to forcibly terminate an agreement. Cayman is of course a world-leading financial services hub and, in recent times, the Cayman courts have observed that freedom of contract is critically-important and have held that sophisticated parties must be allowed to negotiate and agree their own terms of business (see, for example, recent Privy Council decisions in Fairfield Sentry v. Migani and Primeo v. Pearson).

Whether or not the doctrine is engaged will depend on the terms and underlying purpose of the relevant contract. As governments impose restrictions on the movement of people and goods and workplaces are shut down for indefinite periods, parties need to consider with their legal advisors whether contracts have been frustrated by the coronavirus itself and/or other related external factors beyond their control.

 

To continue reading full articles in PDF format:
Coronavirus: Performing Under Pressure

 


Jonathon Milne
Partner

Cayman Islands   +1 345 814 7797
Mobile  +1 345 925 2952


Accolades
_

"They understood the urgency and demanding nature of the deals that we were working on - they were very responsive and commercial, and worked with us to make it happen."
- Chambers Global