移动选单
伊敦文 Mark Yeadon profile photo

伊敦文 Mark Yeadon

合伙人, 香港争议解决及重组部主管 Partner, Hong Kong Head of Disputes and Restructuring

办事处
联络方法

伊敦文是康德明的合伙人兼香港争议解决及重组部主管。

伊律师在 2021 年加入康德明之前,已在香港和伦敦执业 40 年。他在 Eversheds Sutherland 担任合伙人超过 10 年,是其亚洲诉讼与纠纷管理业务的负责人。在此之前,他曾担任司力达律师事务所的合伙人,负责香港诉讼业务长达 18 年。

伊律师为亚洲各地区的客户提供法律意见,他擅长通过仲裁、法庭程序和调解来解决商业纠纷。他在各种商业和金融纠纷方面,拥有丰富经验,特别是处理金融衍生工具、商业合同违约、违反董事和雇员职责、欺诈、疏忽和股东争议等复杂金融交易所引起的问题。

伊律师曾为多间大型国际银行和金融机构,以及许多不同行业的国内和跨国企业提供服务。他作为受监管实体和监管机构在监管查询、调查和争议方面的顾问,获得高度评价。

伊律师经常获独立法律评级机构评为争议解决领域的领先执业者。

主要经验

在加入康德明之前,伊律师曾就广泛的事宜代表客户行事,其中包括:
清盘和股东争议法律程序

  • 在若干重大纠纷中分别为大股东和小股东提供意见,该等纠纷有关小股东基于公正公平的理由寻求下达清盘令,或以不公平的损害为由寻求获得救济;在与一间香港上市公司及其大股东的纠纷中为一名挪威小股东提供意见,该纠纷涉及于百慕大的有争议的清盘和不公平损害法律程序。

破产清算法律程序

  • 就重组的各方面分别为公司和债权人提供意见;就集团公司破产对与该等公司交易的影响向Peregrine Group的对手方提供意见。

投资和咨询纠纷
就下列事宜提供意见:

  • 为一位私募股权投资者就其在印度一家合资企业的投资纠纷提供意见。
  • 就Malaysian Newsprint Industries针对其在马来西亚一个项目融资中的角色提出的数百万美元的申索向摩根大通就其辩护提供意见,其中涉及伦敦和马来西亚的平行诉讼以及两个法院的管辖权异议。
  • 为一名小股东就其与一间私募股权公司有关其权益处置及其估值的纠纷提供意见。
  • 就一间英国上市卖方的货币经纪子公司之买方的投资银行顾问所作的有关买方完成收购之财务能力的疏忽性陈述的影响向英国上市卖方提供意见 – 该纠纷经过5年的诉讼,最终以向卖方支付9位数英镑的付款得以解决。

衍生品交易
就下列事宜提供意见:

  • 为一家印度尼西亚上市公司提供意见,该上市公司就不当出售货币和利率掉期而蒙受的重大损失向一家美国投资银行提出申索。
  • 为数间国际金融机构就其对已破产的Peregrine Group的利率和掉期风险敞口提供意见。
  • 在Peregrine Fixed Income Limited的清算人向英国高等法院提起的关于1992年ISDA主协议中市场报价和损失公式的适当解释的测试案件中,为泰国的Robinson Department Store提供意见;关键问题是在评估根据ISDA条款应支付的结算金额时,非违约对手方的信用状况是否相关。
  • 为一间马来西亚银行就法律程序和调解提供意见,该法律程序和调解涉及马来西亚中央银行对与一家日本银行的一系列掉期交易实行货币管制的影响。
  • 就Hong Kong Health Authority Pension Fund对其美国财务顾问提出的申索向其提供意见,理由是该财务顾问未披露使用杠杆作为美国证券化次级抵押贷款投资要素的情况 – 最终以向该基金注入数百万美元的资金而得以解决。

欺诈
就下列事宜提供意见:

  • 为摩根大通就追回自其澳大利亚悉尼分行欺诈性转移至香港汇丰银行的8,500万美元的一事提供意见,其中包括获得玛瑞瓦禁令和应对在事实错误的情况下转移资金的争议申索。最终,98%的资金被追回。
  • 就一间基金管理公司针对其员工接受奖励用于投资若干公司而提起的法律程序中为该基金管理公司提供意见。

金融机构与其服务供应商之间的关系
就下列事宜为一间大型国际商业银行提供意见:

  • 终止其与国内按揭贷款保险公司的保险安排,在保险公司提起仲裁程序的同时进行了两次调解,最终达成和解。
  • 在一家航空公司破产后,该大型国际商业银行的合资信用卡发行商向其提出申索。
  • 为两家主要银行提供意见,帮助其应对金管局对不当销售金融产品的投诉进行的调查。

就监管事宜提供意见的相关经验
就香港的监管事宜提供下列意见:

  • 为正在对违规行为进行内部调查的公司提供意见。
  • 为参与监管调查(通常是由证监会、香港交易所和金管局发起的调查)的公司和个别董事提供意见。
  • 为进行调查和行业咨询的监管机构提供意见。
  • 在广播和电信行业众多备受瞩目的司法复审程序中代表客户行事。

职业经验

  • 安睿顺德伦律师事务所香港办事处,合伙人
  • 司力达律师事务所香港办事处,合伙人
  • 司力达律师事务所香港办事处,助理律师
  • 司力达律师事务所伦敦办事处,助理律师
  • Johnson Stokes & Master香港办事处,助理律师
  • 富而德律师事务所伦敦办事处,助理律师

教育背景

  • 英国兰开夏郡莱瑟姆,King Edward VII School
  • 美国康涅狄格州,Avon Old Farms School(ESU奖学金)
  • 牛津大学彭布罗克学院(1978年文学硕士(法学))

律师资格

  • 香港,事务律师,1985
  • 英格兰及威尔士,事务律师,1981

奖项与荣誉

  • Mark 连续被法律名录列为争议解决领域的领先律师。《钱伯斯亚洲》对他的描述是“卓越且务实”及“周全且勤勉”。他因“拥有周全、现实的策略和能力做到有的放矢”而备受赞誉。
  • “消息人士称,部门负责人Mark Yeadon‘态度认真’且‘事必躬亲’。客户也称赞他“易于合作”,并指出他能提供“有分寸的意见”。他就金融服务、广播和电信领域的纠纷向客户提供法律意见。 - 2018年《钱伯斯亚太》
  • “Mark Yeadon以参与有争议的监管工作而著名。他为金融服务、广播和电信行业等不同领域的客户提供法律意见。” - 2019年《钱伯斯亚太》
  • “Mark Yeadon领导律所在亚洲的争议解决业务团队,在处理金融服务和科技、媒体和电信行业产生的争议方面具有丰富的经验。他擅长代表客户参与司法复核程序,并代表监管机构和受监管实体行事。” - 2020年《钱伯斯亚太》
  • “Mark Yeadon在处理客户的法律问题时保持特别冷静且审慎的态度,根据其在商业诉讼领域的丰富经验提供敏锐的见解。他亦在极为重要且经常具有争议的电信监管领域拥有特定的专业知识。” - 2020年《亚太法律500强》
  • “Mark Yeadon领导的团队在电信事务(包括竞争问题)方面拥有丰富的专业知识。” - 2020年《亚太法律500强》
  • “Mark Yeadon在该领域拥有丰富的经验,且对诉讼问题有出色的判断力。” - 2020年《亚太法律500强》

精通语言

  • 英语

执业领域

Mobile Menu
Mark Yeadon profile photo

Mark Yeadon

Partner, Hong Kong Head of Disputes and Restructuring

Mark Yeadon is Partner and Hong Kong Head of Disputes and Restructuring at Conyers.

Mark has practised in Hong Kong and London for 40 years prior to joining Conyers in 2021. He spent over 10 years as a partner at Eversheds Sutherland, where he was the Head of the Asia Litigation and Dispute Management Practice. Before that, he was a partner at Slaughter and May where he headed the Hong Kong Litigation Practice for 18 years.

Mark advises clients throughout Asia and specializes in the resolution of commercial disputes by arbitration, court proceedings and mediation. He has a wealth of experience in a wide range of commercial and financial disputes and, in particular, matters arising out of complex financial transactions including derivatives, breaches of commercial contract, breaches of directors’ and employees’ duties, fraud, negligence, and shareholder disputes.

Mark has acted for various major international banks and financial institutions, as well as both domestic and multinational corporates across many different industries. He is highly-regarded as an advisor to both regulated entities and regulators in relation to regulatory inquiries, investigations and disputes.

Mark has been consistently recognised as a leading practitioner in dispute resolution by independent legal directories.

Experience Highlights

Prior to joining Conyers, Mark has acted on a broad range of matters including :

Winding Up and Shareholder Dispute Proceedings

  • Advising respectively the majority and minority shareholders in a number of substantial disputes where the minority has sought either a winding up order on the just and equitable ground or relief for unfair prejudice; advising a Norwegian minority shareholder in a dispute with a Hong Kong listed company and its majority shareholders involving contested winding up and unfair prejudice proceedings in Bermuda.

Insolvency Winding Up Proceedings

  • Advising respectively the companies and creditors in relation to aspects of restructurings; advising counterparties of the Peregrine Group on the effect of the insolvency of group companies on transactions with those companies.

Investment and Advisory Disputes
Advising:

  • a private equity investor in relation to a dispute over its investment in a joint venture in India.
  • JPMorgan in relation to its defence of a multimillion dollar claim brought by Malaysian Newsprint Industries concerning its role in the financing of a project in Malaysia which involved parallel proceedings in London and Malaysia and jurisdictional challenges in both courts.
  • a minority shareholder in a dispute with a private equity house over the disposal of his interest and its valuation.
  • a UK listed vendor over the effect of negligent statements made by the investment bank advisers of the purchaser of its money broking subsidiaries as to the purchaser’s financial ability to complete the purchase – settled after 5 years litigation by a nine figure sterling payment to the vendor.

Derivatives
Advising:

  • an Indonesian listed company in relation to claims against a US investment bank for substantial losses incurred on missold currency and interest rate swaps.
  • several international financial institutions on their interest rate and swap exposure to the collapsed Peregrine Group.
  • Robinson Department Store of Thailand in a test case before the English High Court brought by the liquidators of Peregrine Fixed Income Limited concerning the proper interpretation of the Market Quotation and Loss formulae in the 1992 ISDA Master Agreement; the key issue was the relevance of the credit standing of a non-defaulting counterparty in assessing the settlement amount payable under the ISDA terms.
  • a Malaysian bank in proceedings and a mediation concerning the effect of currency controls introduced by the Malaysian Central Bank on a series of swaps with a Japanese Bank.
  • the Hong Kong Health Authority Pension Fund in relation to its claim against its US financial adviser for failure to disclose the use of leverage as an element of investments in securitised US sub-prime mortgage loans-resolved with a multimillion US dollar injection into the Fund.

Fraud
Advising:

  • JP Morgan in relation to the recovery of US$85 million fraudulently transferred from its Sydney Australia branch to HSBC in Hong Kong which involved obtaining mareva injunctions and responding to competing claims for fund transferred under a mistake of fact. Ultimately 98% of the funds were recovered.
  • a fund manager in proceedings against its staff for accepting incentives to invest in certain companies

Relationships between Financial Institutions and their Service Providers
Advising a major international commercial bank in relation to:

  • the termination of its insurance arrangements with its domestic mortgage lending insurer, ultimately settled after two mediations in parallel with arbitration proceedings initiated by the insurer.
  • claims brought against it by its joint venture credit card issuer following the collapse of an airline.
  • advising two leading banks on their response to investigations by the HKMA into complaints of mis-selling financial products

Relevant Experience of advising on regulatory matters
In relation to regulatory matters in Hong Kong has involved advising:

  • Corporates which are conducting internal investigations into irregularities.
  • Corporates and individual directors involved in regulatory investigations (typically those initiated by the SFC, HKSE and HKMA).
  • Regulators conducting investigations and industry consultations.
  • Acting in numerous high profile judicial review proceedings in the broadcasting and telecoms industry.

Professional Background

  • Partner, Eversheds Sutherland, Hong Kong
  • Partner, Slaughter and May, Hong Kong
  • Assistant Solicitor, Slaughter and May, Hong Kong
  • Assistant Solicitor, Slaughter and May, London
  • Assistant Solicitor, Johnson Stokes & Master, Hong Kong
  • Assistant Solicitor, Freshfields, London

Education

  • King Edward VII School, Lytham, Lancashire UK
  • Avon Old Farms School, Connecticut USA (ESU Scholarship)
  • Pembroke College, University of Oxford (MA (Jurisprudence) 1978)

Bar Admissions

  • Hong Kong, Solicitor, 1985
  • England and Wales, Solicitor, 1981

Awards & Accolades

  • Mark has been consistently listed in legal directories as a Leading Individual for Dispute Resolution. He has been described by Chambers Asia as “excellent and practical” and “thorough and diligent”. He has been praised for his “thorough, realistic strategies and ability to get right to the point.”

  • “Department head Mark Yeadon is deemed by sources to be ‘very diligent’ and ‘very hands on.” Clients also appreciate that he is “easy to work with” and note that he provides “measured advice.” He advises clients on disputes in the financial services, broadcasting and telecommunications sectors. - Chambers Asia Pacific 2018

  • “Mark Yeadon is noted for his involvement in contentious regulatory work. He advises clients across a wide range of sectors, including the financial services, broadcasting and telecommunications sectors.” - Chambers Asia Pacific 2019

  • “Mark Yeadon leads the firm's dispute resolution practice group in Asia and offers notable experience in handling disputes arising in the financial services and TMT sectors. He is well placed to represent clients in judicial review proceedings and acts on behalf of both regulators and regulated entities.” - Chambers Asia Pacific 2020

  • “Mark Yeadon has an exceptionally calm and measured approach to clients’ legal matters, providing sharp insights drawn from a wealth of experience in the commercial litigation field. He also has particular expertise in the immensely important and often contentious field of telecommunications regulation.” - Asia Pacific Legal 500 (2020)

  • “Mark Yeadon leads a team with great expertise in telecoms matters, including competition issues.” - Asia Pacific Legal 500 (2020)

  • “Mark Yeadon has huge experience of the sector and excellent judgment of litigation issues.” - Asia Pacific Legal 500 (2020)

Associations

  • Member of the Judicial Board of World Sailing
  • Member of the General Committee and Hon Secretary of Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club

Languages

  • English

Area(s) of Expertise

Upcoming Firm Events

14 Sep 2021
2021 London International Shipping Week Gala

Terrace Gallery and Rotunda Garden at the Museum of London